Baking · healthy · Recipe

Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_4098

I love chocolate chip cookies so much. I blame my mother and grandmother because they used to feed me mini Chips Ahoy cookies while I was getting ready for school. Does anyone remember the old school mini chips ahoy cookies that were legit…mini? Seriously, Chips Ahoy stole my heart at a very young age. I’m one of those who will throw a fit if an oatmeal raisin cookie is in my mouth. No offense to those who enjoy oatmeal raisins. Just sayin’ if I’m craving a chocolate chip cookie but I end up grabbing an oatmeal raisin, it’s an utter disappointment.

ANYWAYS.

Husband and I have put on some post-wedding weight so we’re trying to lose it all before my sister’s wedding in September so we’re now watching what we’re eating. However, it does not mean we should avoid sweets.

I’m currently obsessed with Chocolate Covered Katie’s blog. Anyone been there yet? All of her desserts are healthy, no fillers, and down right tasty. SO, you know I had to try out her chocolate chip cookie recipe. She has a few but this one in particular caught my eye. I did tweak the baking time a bit but it’s still amazing. Yes, these are vegan but no one will know. They’re crisp on the outside, fluffy and soft on the inside. Oh and they require one bowl. Win.

Score. They’re less than 100 calories. Do a happy dance.

Go. Bake.Now.

Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies

recipe adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie

Ingredients:

  • 1/3C plus 1/4C AP Flour (you can also use oat flour but I just got lazy grinding my oats)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar (I used light brown sugar)
  • 2 tbsp organic cane sugar
  • up to 1/3C semi-sweet chocolate chips or vegan chips
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp oil (I used canola oil)
  • 1-3 tbsp of milk (I used 2% milk but you can use unsweetened almond or soy milk)

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, whisk flour, salt, baking soda, brown sugar, and cane sugar.
  2. Add the oil and vanilla. Whisk to combine
  3. Add the milk, tablespoon at a time, until a dough forms and the flour is combined.
  4. Add the chocolate chips and combine well.
  5. Using a tablespoon, drop mounds into a silicone or parchment lined baking tray, making sure that there is space in between each cookie.
  6. Bake in a preheated 375F oven for 8-9 minutes. The cookies will flatten out a bit but not too much. Do not over bake as they will continue to cook while cooling down.

 

Leave a Reply

