Baking · Breakfast · healthy · Recipe · Uncategorized

Blueberry Lemon Muffins

IMG_3953

Have you ever bought a muffin that had maybe 3-4 blueberries? WHY?! Why would you call it a blueberry muffin if you skimp out on the main reason I am getting a BLUEBERRY muffin. If I order a blueberry muffin, I expect blueberries in every damn bite.

This is why I decided to bake them last Friday because I got tired of spending money on a plain muffin with just a dot of blueberry muffin.

These are super moist and PACKED with blueberries. I also threw in some lemon zest because these are my muffins so I get to do whatever I want with them. Oh and lemon and blueberries = heavenly.

Did I mention there’s no butter in this recipe? Yeah, no butter. I also filled the batter into the cups almost to the top because I wanted massive muffins. But you can totally do normal sizes if that’s what you’re into.

IMG_3952
mmm blueberries…

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • zest of 1 lemon (you can use less)
  • 1 1/3 cups fresh blueberries (you can use frozen but make sure they are thawed)
  • 1/3 cup neutral flavored oil. I used canola
  • 3/4 cup milk. I used 2%. You may need additional tbsp or so of milk if the batter does not combine all the dry ingredients.

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, zest and blueberries and whisk well
  2. In another bowl (I used a measuring cup), whisk the oil, egg and milk.
  3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until just combined. The batter will be lumpy but you want it that way. I had to add an additional tbsp of milk but you may not.
  4. Pour the batter into a lined muffin tin until 2/3 fill or almost to the top.
  5. Bake in a preheated 400F for about 25 minutes or until the center comes out clean when a toothpick is inserted
  6. Allow to cool for about 5 minutes and eat away!
Leave a Reply

