My life

“Do you have another job?” “Yes, being a wife”

file-62

That was the exact conversation I had with my PM last Friday when I handed him my resignation letter at my company.  Allow me to back track…

I’ve been with this company for about 2 years. I’ve seen the good, the bad, the ugly. I worked hard to get where I am today. Every company has their own sets of drama and I understood that from the get go. I even realized that sometimes things get tough and sometimes you’ll have horrible weeks-believe me, I was fully aware of that.  However, with that said, I’m still “old fashioned” in that if a company causes me to put my job first than my husband/marriage, I have an issue.

Now, let me clarify further.  I understand that there are many occupations that require you to be on call or away for months on end or days and days. Where I work, it was not like that yet they treat you as if it is. At the end of the day, you’re looked more like a dollar sign so whatever they could do to bring more money in (which we desperately needed), it was done. Your voice is never end, though they would beg to differ. I still stood by them, day in and day out until finally I snapped. I realized my marriage was being put on the back burner.  I noticed I was getting depressed and losing interests in things I thought would never happen.  Beyond that, my husband noticed a change and that’s when it hit me.  That’s when I realized I had to stop this madness and focus on something that is way more important than a job-my husband. I have my whole life to have a career but only one shot with this man and I was not going to let this company take that from me.  After weeks of discussion with my husband, I decided last Friday was the day.  My PM had a hunch something was not right but thought this would all brush over me and I would continue, per usual.  This time, I did not.  He asked me if I had another job lined up to which I responded with “Yes, it’s called being a wife”.  He was shocked to hear that from my mouth that I would leave a company with no other perspective in sight all for the sake of my husband. A huge weight has been lifted since that day and guess what? I’m not regretting it one bit.

This post was not done because I wanted to “bash” this company. I’m posting this to state that it’s okay to leave your job or whatever it is to help salvage your marriage, your relationship and even yourself. It does NOT make you weak to do that-it makes you stronger. It makes you stronger to know that you’ve realized what’s more important and have chosen to follow that path. I’ve had some people come up and give me the usual “women in the days worked hard to pave way for us to have a career and you’re turning back time by focusing on your husband” or “did he force you to quit?” but you know what? I don’t care. I really don’t. Yes, women back in the days did work hard but not to pave way so we could all have a career-it was to have a choice to stay at home or be a career-driven woman. My husband did not force me to quit-if he did, I would not have married him in the first place. He always supports my decision and is there to help me out when I feel stuck. Why would I quit my job that I worked hard to get and get where I am if I knew my husband would make me quit?

Am I scared of the unknown? Yes, I am, very much so but this is the path I have decided to follow and I’m excited to see it. Sure, I could have waited but I knew my happiness would have been gone if I continued to wait for something to show up. Then again, being a wife is a job in and of itself and I’m excited to be focusing on that until something else shows up for me. I’m excited to cook and bake for my husband. I’m excited to actually do laundry and fold clothes. I’m excited to FINALLY rearrange my kitchen cabinets. Most importantly, I’m excited to focus on myself and my happiness.

I’m happy. I’m excited. I’m scared. I’m relieved. I can finally breathe.

Leave a Reply

