Desserts · Recipe · Uncategorized

Chocolate Roulade

HAPPY NEW YEARS! I hope the new years brings you loads of happiness and joy :). I know, I know, I’ve fallen behind on my blog but I’m back! Lets bake a cake!

I love saying roulade, it makes me feel fancy.  Roulade is a french way of saying “swiss roll”.  We all know what swiss rolls are-anyone remember Little Debbies Swiss Roll?  I’m sure you do because you would be the cool kid at lunch for having one in your lunch box.  Kids would want to trade their lunch for your Little Debbie snack.  That and lunchables. Oh lunchables, how I miss your cardboard tasting pizza and square turkeys.  Anyways…

A few weeks ago, I was in a baking mood and asked my boyfriend if there was something he wanted, to which he responded with “swiss roll”.  This scared me because I thought I would not be able to do it.  I’ve watched videos of people attempting to make it, ending up being a huge mess due to it cracking.  However, it was a challenge and it was a challenge I refused to back down on.

1441368_10201305401733208_1486992692_n

Difficult? Nope. Time consuming? You betcha.  The key thing with this is patience. Yes, you need loads of patience and time because this is not something you rush.  If I were you, I would recommend baking this the day before you need it to avoid having a stress attack.

The most important thing is that you need to make sure this cake is completely cooled before rolling. When you’re about to roll, take your time and relax; don’t fret if there’s cracks because there will be cracks-it’s something you just cannot avoid.  My boyfriend did not want the cake iced but you could definitely make a fudge icing to cover the cracks.

I can assure you, with some practice, you’ll get it! Oh and it tastes deliciously amazing, if I say so myself!

Ingredients for the Sponge Cake:

  • 6 large eggs, separated (while cold, to make it easier), brought up to room temperature
  • 1/2C unsweetened good quality cocoa powder (I used Ghiradelli)
  • 1/4C plus 2 tbsp granulated white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 3/4 tsp cream of tartar, optional

Ingredients for Cinnamon Whipped Cream

  • 1C cold heavy cream
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tbsp granulated white sugar

Directions for Baking Sponge Cake

  1. Preparing the baking pan: butter or spray a 17 x 12 inch sheet pan (or jelly roll pan). Place a baking paper (parchment paper) on top of the sprayed or buttered pan and spray and butter again.  Using a parchment paper is essential for this recipe since it will prevent the cake from sticking and help us roll the cake. 
  2. Place the egg yolks and 1/4 cup of sugar in a bowl and whisk or beat until the mixture is thick, pale yellow, and fluffy. If you’re using a stand mixer or hand mixer, this should take about 5 minutes on high speed.  If you hand whisk it, be prepared. Trust me, I know ;).  You’ll know when the mixture is ready when you slowly raise the whisk and the mixture drops down slowly in ribbons.
  3. Add the cocoa powder and mix until it’s incorporated. Set aside.
  4. Using a clean and dry whisk, on high speed, beat the egg whites until foamy.  Once foamy, add the cream of tartar. This step is optional but it just helps stabilize the egg whites.  Beat or whisk again until it forms soft white peaks.  Gradually add the 2 tbsp of sugar until it forms stiff peaks.   You’ll know when it’s done when you can place the bowl above your head and the egg whites remain stable.
  5. Using a rubber spatula, gently fold in the egg whites into the egg yolk mixture, little by little, until just incorporated.  Do not over mix, otherwise it will deflate.
  6. Pour the mixture into the prepared sheet pan and spread it evenly using an off-set spatula or back of a spoon.
  7. Bake in a preheated 350F oven (make sure the oven rack is set in the middle) for 15-17 minutes or until the cake has lost its shine and springs back when you touch it.
  8. Once done, remove from the oven and place it on a cooling rack.  Cover the sheet pan with a damp towel and allow it to cool completely!

Directions for the Cinnamon Whipped Cream

  1. Using a whisk or hand mixer, beat the cold whipped cream, along with the sugar, vanilla essence, and cinnamon powder until it forms stiff peaks.
  2. Place the cream in the fridge until it’s needed.

Preparing the Roulade

  1. Very carefully, remove the cake from the sheet pan and place it onto the counter.  Do not remove the baking paper!
  2. Spread the whipped cream evenly over the cake.
  3. Starting with the short end of the cake, very gently roll the cake, removing bits of the paper as you go, tightly.  Be patient while rolling this cake and don’t get discouraged if you see cracks-it’s expected.
  4. Once rolled, if you wish, you can cut the ends off to make it look pretty.
  5. Dust it with icing sugar or frost it with fudge icing!
  6. Serve it after or you can cover it store it in the fridge. It should last you about a week.

 

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Roulade

  1. This looks soo yummy! I have been looking for some great looking gluten free treats and I never would have thought this was one! I am definitely going to be trying this one this weekend! Thank you for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

