Asian · Fusion · Recipe · Uncategorized

Thai Scented Mussels!

I love Thai food.  I love mussels.  Why not combine these two to create a delicious dinner?  That, my friends, is exactly what I did. Of all my favorite Thai curries, red curry is my favorite.  It’s spicy and pungent, which is what I love! Nowadays, you can easily find Thai curry paste at any local grocery store, which makes my life easier.

I call this Thai scented because even though it has some flavors that you will find in Thai cuisines, it’s really not authentic Thai.  Everyone has their own versions of thai scented mussels, however, I made mine with a couple twists.  First off, I omitted the fish sauce and lime juice.  Because I don’t cook Thai food frequently, I don’t keep fish sauce in handy, therefore, I left it out.  However, if you have some, go ahead and use it, just omit the salt.  Secondly, white wine is already tangy and I felt that adding lime juice would just sour it up too much.  Using the zest gives it that citrus note without puckering your lips up. I ended up squeezing a little bit of lime juice over, in my bowl, to brighten up the dish a bit, however.

photo

Cooking with mussels is rather easy, believe it or not.  The thing to remember is before cooking, any open mussels must be discarded and any close mussels must be discarded, after cooking.  These babies are live before you throw them in the pot, so if some are open, try taping them or gently closing them.  For the most part, if they’re alive, they’ll close but if not, discard.  So, again-closed before cooking and open after cooking.

Add bread and you got yourself a delicious dinner!

Ingredients:

  • 3 lbs mussels, cleaned, scrubbed and debearded
  • 1-14 oz can unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1 3/4C water
  • 3/4C dry white wine, like Chardonnay
  • 2 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 1.5 inch piece of ginger, minced
  • 3 thai peppers, minced finely (deseed and remove membrane for a milder flavor.)
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 3 tbsp red curry paste
  • 2.5 tbsp cilantro stems, tied up
  • 2.5 tbsp cilantro leaves, chopped finely
  • 1.5 tbsp thai basil leaves, chopped finely
  • 1 stalk lemongrass, crushed
  • zest of 1 lime
  • Salt, to taste

Directions:

  1. In a pot, over medium heat, melt the butter
  2. Add the peppers, ginger, and garlic and cook for 5-6 minutes
  3. Add the curry paste and cook for 30 minutes
  4. Add water, coconut milk, white wine, lemongrass, lime zest, cilantro stems, and salt. Bring to simmer
  5. Once simmering, carefully add the mussels, mix well, cover and cook until the mussels open up.
  6. Once opened, add the cilantro leaves and thai basil leaves.
  7. Serve with a crusty bread!

 

Leave a Reply

