Indian · Recipe · Uncategorized

Rajasthani Bataki (Potato Curry)

Ignore the green beans on the plate. The bataki is the one on top that’s reddish and inviting. I was going to post a picture of just the potatoes but I was too busy eating it from the bowl. It happens to me all the time whenever I’m in the kitchen. Oh well.

photo 4

What makes it Rajasthani? Perhaps the loads of garlic and loads of masalas. Or maybe not. All I know is that this dish is delicious. What makes it delicious? It’s something I was trying to avoid but in the end, I caved in and had to do it. The health nut in me kind of shredded a tear or two but that didn’t last long. Once I took a bite of it, the regret went away.  What was the dreaded thing I had to do, you ask? I had to…

photo 1

Oh that’s not water, my friends. Nope, that’s oil. Yes, deep fry the potatoes. Oh, I cringed, believe me. If anyone knows me, you know I avoid frying food as much as I can just because it’s something that I don’t like to do. However, I ended up caving in and deep frying. I was cooking for my parents and figured that I might as well do this dish properly. Besides, it’s not like I eat fried food every week. Still..*cries*.  With that said, I did cut back A LOT on the oil when I had to cook the fried potatoes with all the spices. The woman on the gujarati cooking show used almost 1 cup of oil…yeah, SEVERE cut back on the oil. I deep fried, that’s good enough.

Oh, this dish is spicy and loaded with garlic. Definitely not for the faint of heart. I advise you to not feed this to a bunch of people who avoid onions and garlic. Could you do without the onions and garlic? Maybe but it wouldn’t be the same. Could you cut back on the garlic? Sure, but why?

Ingredients:

  • 0.5 lb baby potatoes, cut in halves
  • Oil for frying plus 1 tbsp for the curry process
  • 1.5 tsp cumin seeds
  • Asafetida (hing), 1/2 tsp
  • 4-5 dried whole chills, either broken into pieces or kept whole (for milder flavor)
  •  3 tbsp garlic paste
  • 1 large white onion, chopped finely
  • 3 heaping tbsp cumin-coriander powder
  • 3 tsp red chili powder (I used a mixture of kashmiri powder for color and red chili for heat)
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tbsp garam masala powder
  • salt, to taste
  • water, as needed for the masala paste
  • cilantro, chopped finely, for garnish

Directions

  1. In a large pan, pour about 1/2-1 inch oil and heat on medium heat.
  2. Once heated, deep fry the potatoes until cooked through and it’s light brown in color. Drain on a paper towel to absorb excess oil.
  3. In another pan, heat 1 tbsp of oil on medium heat.
  4. Add cumin seeds and allow to sizzle.
  5. Once the cumin seeds start to sizzle, add the dried chills and hing.
  6. Add onions and cook until they turn translucent, about 5-6 minutes.
  7. Once translucent, add the garlic paste and cook for about 1 minute
  8. Add the potatoes, mix well and cook for about 3-4 minutes
  9. In a cup, add the cumin-coriander powder, turmeric powder, garam masala and red chili powder.  Add water little by little, until you get a really thick paste.
  10. Add the paste to the potatoes mixture and mix to combine
  11. Add about 1/2C of water and salt to the mixture, mix, cover and cook for about 20 minutes on low heat. Be sure to add water to the mixture from time to time if it looks too dry.
  12. After 20 minutes, taste to adjust seasonings and garnish with fresh cilantro once done.
  13. Serve with rice and roti. This dish tastes so much better the next day 🙂
3 thoughts on “Rajasthani Bataki (Potato Curry)

Leave a Reply

