Middle Eastern · Recipe

Baba Ghanoush-Roasted Eggplant dip!

I’m pretty certain that in my past life I must have been middle eastern because I absolutely LOVE all sorts of middle eastern cuisines from Afghani to Kurdish to Moroccan-you name it, I love it! I’m pretty bummed that they closed down an Afghani restaurant AND moroccan restaurant near me. Trust me, I was not a happy camper. However, that’s not going to stop me from creating those dishes at home!

Baba Ghanoush is one of my favorite dips of all time, aside from the typical hummus. Eggplant typically is a bland vegetable, however, once roasted, it takes on a completely new taste. This dip is fruity from the olive oil, slightly garlicky and just that hint of smokiness from the eggplant. Plus, this is a pretty healthy dip, which is a plus. Trust me, nobody will know that this dip is made from eggplant..unless you tell them. Oh yes, it’s THAT delicious!

photo

 

Oh and as for my trip to Durban?

IMG_1635Daily trips to the beach, during winter? Yes, gorgeous. Pure bliss. If anyone plans on going to Durban, I highly recommend Milky Lane on the beach and ordering a chic 99 dip with Flake. You won’t regret it. In the words of my sister-it’s “om nom nom nom”.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large eggplant
  • 1/2C tahini paste
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed into a fine paste
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp tsp cumin powder
  • 1.5 tbsp extra virgin olive oil plus extra for the eggplant and garnish
  • salt, to taste
  • red chili powder, optional, to taste
  • salt, to taste
  • parsley, for garnish, chopped finely (I used dried parsley flakes since I forgot to pick up fresh one at the supermarket)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 500F. Yes, 500F-the higher the temp, the better the flavor the eggplant will have
  2. Rub a small amount of olive oil on the eggplant and prick several holes in it with a fork.
  3. Place the eggplant on a baking tray and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour
  4. Allow the eggplant for about 10 minutes and then remove the skin from it. Place the peeled eggplant into a bowl and allow it to cool to room temperature.
  5. Add the tahini paste, cumin, garlic, lemon juice, salt, red chili powder and the olive oil to the eggplant.
  6. 2 options: either you can use a hand mixer to puree or use a fork to mash it until there is no more stringiness. OR, you can use a food processor. So, 3 options :). I used a hand mixer instead-easier clean up.
  7. Taste the dip and adjust the seasoning accordingly.
  8. Garnish with a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil and parsley.
  9. Serve it with pita chips or bread! Yum yum!

 

 

Leave a Reply

