Indian · Recipe

Black Eyed Beans Curry (Chora Nu Shaak)

It has been a month since I’ve posted anything on this blog! What have I been up to, you may be wondering? Well, for the month of June, I was in the beautiful city of Durban, located in SOUTH AFRICA! I’ll be posting about my adventures in the next post! A week after we came back from South Africa, 2 of my best friends got married. It was one of the most beautiful weddings we attended and I’m so glad I was able to part of the party and stand by them.

On to what I do best..cooking! Last week, my mom wasn’t feeling too well so I decided to cook dinner for the family. I ended up cooking black eyed beans (chora) and it turned out AMAZING! This dish is so simple to cook and if you have a pressure cooker, you can have dinner on the table in 30 minutes!  I didn’t think about the pressure cooker until I started cooking, so the process was a bit longer but it still was amazing.  Also, I didn’t bother using dried beans since it takes too long. I just bought frozen organic beans and they turned out fine.

994511_10200461511156471_314288007_nIngredients:

  • 2 cups black eyed beans, frozen or dried which were soaked overnight and boiled
  • 2 tsp red chili powder, or to taste. I used a mixture of red chili powder and kashmiri powder
  • 2 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp amchur (dried mango) powder*
  • a pinch of hing (asafetida)
  • 2 tsp black mustard seeds (rai)
  • 2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 3 tsp neutral flavored oil
  • salt, to taste
  • 2 big onions, finely chopped
  • 2 big tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 3 tsp ginger and garlic paste
  • 1.5 tsp garam masala powder
  • 3 cups water or as needed

*can be found at any Indo-pak grocery stores

Directions

  1. Heat oil on medium heat and add mustard seeds and cumin seeds. Allow the cumin seeds to sizzle and mustard seeds to pop.
  2. Add the hing and onions and cook until they turn a light brown color
  3. Add ginger and garlic paste, cumin and coriander powder, mix and cook for 2 minutes
  4. Add amchur powder and cook for 30 seconds
  5. Add tomatoes and a bit of salt and cook until the tomatoes get mushy and mix in with the onions, about 5-7 minutes
  6. Add red chili powder and garam masala and cook until the oil separates from the mixture
  7. Add the black eyed beans, 2 cups of water and salt. Mix well, cover and cook on medium-low. If you used dried beans that were cooked, it should about 10 minutes, however, because I used raw frozen beans, they took about 35-40 minutes to cook.
  8. While the mixture is simmering, adjust water if it’s becoming too dry (hence why I put 3 cups of water in the ingredients section).
  9. Taste and adjust the spices accordingly!
  10. Serve hot with roti and rice!

 

 

 

One thought on “Black Eyed Beans Curry (Chora Nu Shaak)

Leave a Reply

