Drinks

Whiskey Sour Skinnified!

Is that even a word? Skinnified? No, okay, well it’s a new word then.  Since I joined a gym in January, I have become a bit more of a health nut.  I try to avoid to buy things that contain high fructose corn syrup and/or partially-hydrogenated oils.  At the same time, I’ve been cutting down on certain alcoholic beverages.  Lets be real and agree that alcohol is definitely not very figure friendly, especially if it’s a cocktail.  Wine, yes, very good, and pretty low calorie but if you throw in juices and sugar, you’re expecting a typical 113-115 drink to be around 200+.  The same goes for any hard liquor.  If you’re around family and friends, it’s so easy to rank up the calories in just alcoholic beverages.

What makes cocktails so high in calories is the amount of shots per drink plus all the juices and sugar that’s added to it.  I love my alcohol just as much as the next person but if I can cut out about 50-100 calories, I will do whatever I can to make that happen.  Eh, that concept can easily go out the window the second you ask for thirds or fourths..or fifths.  Oops.

I love whiskey. I love whiskey sours.  I don’t, however, like that it can contain about 200 calories per drink.  What makes these drinks higher in calories is the sugar syrup.  What I did was eliminate the calories yet kept the taste of a whiskey sour, if not better since it’s skinnified! This drink is less than 100 calories! How so?! Rather than using regular sugar, I substituted it with Stevia! A bit pricy than granulated sugar, yes, but it’s definitely worth the investment! I put this stuff in my coffee and whenever I need to make simple syrup for any cocktails. Trust me, it’s worth the $5 or $8 for a small container or so of it.

Definitely use any whiskey of your liking.  My personal preference, however, is…

photo

 

MAKERS! I love this whiskey.  I happen to grab the “42 Makers” (you know, when they decided to “water” it down a bit?) but it really doesn’t make much of a difference.  Okay, well, it does have a “slight” watery taste but whatever.  It’s still whiskey and it tastes delicious.

photo

 

Oh and that green in the glass is a slice of a jalapeno.  I wanted to spice it up a bit just because but it was an ultimate fail because these jalapenos tasted like a bell pepper.  No, seriously, they really did.

By the way, don’t strain this drink when you’re pouring it into a glass! All the good stuff is in those ice cubes that were in the shaker :).  All you would be doing is just throwing away all the deliciousness! Yes. Oh, yeah, onto the ingredients…

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 oz whiskey
  • 1.5 tbsp  skinny simple syrup * (see note below)
  • Juice of half or whole lemon. I used a whole lemon because I love the sourness of this drink (hence the “sour” part of “whiskey sour) but if you want it less, just use half a lemon. yes, limes will do as well!
  • Ice cubes

Skinny simple syrup:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup stevia sugar (I used Truvia but you can use any stevia 0 calorie sugar)

-In a sauce pan, bowl the sugar and water for 1 minute or until the sugar is completely dissolved.  Allow it to cool for 30 minutes and store in an air tight container in the fridge.

Directions:

  1. In a shaker, add the ice, lemon juice, simple syrup and whiskey.
  2. Shake for 10-15 seconds
  3. Pour the content into a glass and garnish with a lemon wedge

Leave a Reply

