Desserts

Healthier Fudgy Brownies!

photo

 

Since I started hitting the gym 3x a week for the past 1.5 months, I’ve been eating healthier than in the past.  This doesn’t mean, I’m one of those ultra health nuts who refrains from white flour, carbs, sugar, alcohol, etc.  If I’m craving Lays chips, I grab a small handful of it to cure my cravings or if I’m wanting an alcoholic drink, I make a cocktail that’s lower in calories, and so forth.  At the same time, if I can make a certain dish healthier, I will, but that doesn’t mean I’m planning on healthifying every dish that I make.

Besides the middle eastern fusion, I felt like making my boyfriend brownies but since, we’re refraining from eating meat until Holi (including eggs), I wanted to find ways to make this dessert egg free and, might as well, butter-free.  Typically, brownies, are LOADED with calories due to sugar and a couple sticks of butter.  Delicious, hell yes, figure friendly, ha, not even.  Whenever you try to make desserts healthier, there’s this notion that the dish will end up being crumbly or lacking in texture in flavor.  Well, it’s true, but only if you don’t find a good substitute for a particular ingredient you want to omit.  So, how do you turn a calorie filled sweet, like brownies, into something that’s healthier and a bit guilt-free?  Find a good, of course!  Like I said, for these brownies, I decided to omit eggs AND butter.

What’s the secret ingredient to these fudgy healthier brownies?  Avocado.  What. the. crap?! Yep, acovado.  Think of avocado as butter-it has the same creamy consistency as butter but it’s lower in calories, healthier than butter, and contains fat that’s actually good for your body!  Avocado does a certain taste but it’s covered up with the use of cocoa powder so I promise you, you won’t taste it one bit :).  These brownies aren’t dense like typical fudgy brownies can be, but the texture of it when you take a bite of it, is extremely fudgy and sticks to the roof of your mouth.  Yummy-o, as Rachael Ray would say.  If you cannot, for some reason, find avocado, you can sub it with unsweetened applesauce or banana; however, be careful with the banana because it may give your brownies a banana taste. I, personally, wouldn’t mind it but others might.  Chocolate and banana? YUM! Then again, anything with chocolate is good in my book.  I might be living a healthier lifestyle but I refuse to give up on chocolate.  Then again, they do say a small amount of dark chocolate is good for you.  Er, well, my take on small amount might differ on those scientists who did the study. Oops 😉

This recipe can definitely be vegan friendly if you sub the chocolate chips with dairy-free kinds or you can use nuts such as pecans!  My boyfriend prefers chocolate chips, so I used those.  Go ahead and increase the sugar if you prefer your brownies more on the sweeter side.  I prefer the taste of cocoa more so I only used 2 cups of it but, like I said, increase the amount if you wish.

Ingredients

Dry Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups Whole Wheat Flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened coco powder, preferably dutch-processed
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Wet Ingredients

  • 1 small ripened avocado, pureed (about 1/2 cup) (I used a masher but you may puree it in a food processor)
  • 2 cups dark brown sugar, slightly packed
  • 1/2 cup olive oil (not extra-virgin)
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 4 tsp apple cider vinegar (you may sub it with lemon juice)

Directions

  1. Sift all dry ingredients, except chocolate chips, in a bowl and mix to combine
  2. Add chocolate chips and mix. Set aside
  3. In another bowl, mix brown sugar and avocado until combined
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients of the wet ingredients until incorporated
  5. Add the wet ingredients to dry ingredients bowl little by little until it’s well combined
  6. Grease and flour a baking pan well and pour the batter into it. Tap it on the counter to remove any air bubbles
  7. Bake at 450F for 15-20 minutes.  You want the toothpick, when inserted into the center, to have a few crumbs on it (not completely clean) but you don’t want the batter to still be runny.
  8. Let it cool for 15 minutes before cutting into it!
  9. Enjoy with a glass of milk or, my favorite, a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Mmmm, delicious!

 

 

Leave a Reply

