Baking · Recipe

Ganache filled Chocolate Candy!

Yes, you heard me right-ganache (truffle) filled chocolate candy.  Want to know a secret? You don’t need a pastry degree to make these! I got it on my first try, which means any one of you can get it on your first try!  Why would I want to take time out of my “busy” schedule to make these? Well…

Cooking and baking are my stress relievers.  Last week was a busy week for me since I had to travel to DC for a job interview, only to find out yesterday that I didn’t get the position.  I promised myself that this year I would not let something like this bring me down and I stuck by it! Did I cry? Of course! Who wouldn’t?!  It’s a really crappy feeling when you realize you’re back to square one once again but there’s nothing I can do about it.  Sure, I could sit here and throw a pity party but what good would that do for me? The only thing I can do is pick myself up from the ground, wipe the dirt off myself and move forward.  That and make chocolate candies for my boyfriend.  Not going to lie, having his support, as well as his family’s support, is one of the biggest reasons I’m not sitting here all depressed.  I thought that instead of buying something for my honey, it would mean more if I made something homemade for him.  Sure, I could make those typical truffles but psshhh, I enjoy torturing myself more a bit more; by torture, I mean enjoyment :).

527974_4670364993259_449468385_n

Believe it or not, making your own chocolate candy is not that difficult.  Time consuming, yes, but it’s fairly easy.  The only thing is that you have to work fairly quick with the tempered chocolate (the outer chocolate coating) because it hardens pretty quick.  Don’t take your time with making each truffle perfect-just fill them, use a scraper or knife to remove excess and let it harden.  Even if the truffle isn’t perfect, when you take them out of the molds, you can easily remove the excess to make them look pretty.

I bought all my materials at Michaels but you can buy them at any arts and crafts stores.  I didn’t make my own tempered chocolate but by all means, feel free to make your own, if you have the time.  I got kind of lazy and just bought a bag of melting chocolate wafers.  Also, you don’t have to use my ganache filling! If you don’t like a chocolate filling then use any other fillings your heart desires.  Trust me, I won’t cry about it ;).  Finally, do not go cheap and buy crappy chocolate for the ganache, if you choose a chocolate filling! Trust me, invest in some good quality chocolate for it! You won’t regret it :).

Ingredients: 

  • 1 bag dark chocolate wafers (tempered chocolate). I used Make ‘n Mold Dark Chocolate Melting Wafers but you can use any chocolate coating products or homemade tempered chocolate. Do NOT use just regular chocolate chips that are melted; it must be tempered chocolate! I bought mine from Michaels but you can get these from any arts and crafts store in the baking aisle.
  • 1 cup bittersweet chocolate, chopped. I bought a chocolate block from Whole Foods but you can use whatever chocolate you want. Use good quality-it’ll make a difference
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp coffee liquor (or instant espresso)
  • 2 chocolate molds. I bought the Make ‘n Mold but you can use whatever candy molds you want.
  • Scrapper or a knife
  • Wax paper or parchment paper, optional. It gets pretty messy and wax paper was an easy clean up and a perfect way for me to refuse the wafers.

Directions

  1. Spread out of your wax paper on a counter. Like I said, this is a messy job and wax paper was perfect for me to reuse the candy wafers that dripped onto the paper but you can use newspaper or tin foil.
  2. In a saucepan, bring the heavy cream to a simmer. Right when it’s about to boil, turn off heat and pour the cream over the chopped chocolate.
  3. Let the chocolate and cream sit for a minute. After a minute, whisk to combine until the chocolate is all melted and the cream is fully incorporated.
  4. Add the cinnamon and coffee and mix until combined.
  5. Press a cling wrap to the top of the ganache and let it sit at room temperature until it’s completely cooled. The ganache should be still fluid once cooled
  6. While the ganache is cooling; in a bowl, melt the candy wafers in a microwave or double boiler.
  7. Once melted, working quickly, spoon some of the melted wafers into the candy molds and allow it to sit for a minute
  8. After a minute, flip the molds upside and down and allow the excess to drip onto the wax paper. You can swirl the molds slightly so that the excess pours out.  If you have used wax or parchment paper, the excess chocolate would be easy to scrap and be reused for later use!
  9. Use a bench scraper or a chef’s knife to run across the top of the mold, removing any excess chocolate from top of it. You don’t have to do it but it’ll make your truffles look neater. Don’t worry if it doesn’t get rid of all of the excess-once the truffles are done and you remove them from the molds-you can remove the “ugly” parts of it fairly easily.
  10. Place the molds in the fridge for 10-15 minutes to harden
  11. Once hardened, remove from the fridge and fill the molds with the ganache filling 3/4 way.  Tap the molds to remove any air bubbles.
  12. Once filled, place the molds back in the fridge for 30-45 minutes or until the ganache is set and firm
  13. Reheat the chocolate wafers and cover the molds with it. Tap the molds so the tempered chocolate is evenly coated and air bubbles are removed.
  14. Using a chef’s knife or bench scrapper, remove the excess until the chocolate layer is completely flat with the top of the mold.
  15. Place the molds back in the fridge for 10-15 minutes.
  16. Once hardened, take them out of the fridge, flip the molds upside and down to remove the candy from the molds. If the chocolate does not come out, place the molds back in the fridge for another 10 minutes. They should pop out after that.
  17. Optional but you can remove the jagged edges (excess chocolate) with  a knife or your hand, once out of the mold. You don’t have to do it but if you want it to look neater, go ahead and do it.
  18. Your molded chocolate is complete! Now was that so hard? 🙂

Like I said, you don’t have to do a ganache filling! Feel free to use any filling of your choice from strawberry, passion fruit to even orange! As stated previously PLEASE make sure you use TEMPERED CHOCOLATE for the outer coating of the truffle. I seriously cannot stress that enough!  You can definitely make your own but if not, you can buy the “melting chocolate wafers” at any arts and crafts store.  I used the Make ‘n Mold wafers but you can use Wilton’s Candy Melts or Candiquik.  As long as it’s tempered chocolate, you’re good :).  You don’t have to use 2 molds but it just made my life easier using a couple molds instead of having to reuse 1 mold.  I had some ganache left over but I plan on making more chocolate next week, so no worries 🙂

Leave a Reply

