Breakfast · Indian

Mashed Chickpea “Scramble”

377725_4647329857395_1164126418_n

 

For starters, it’s not dog food nor is it scrambled eggs. Shocking, right?  Before you go all “Oh my gosh, this is disgusting!!”, let me just say that it is the most delicious breakfast I’ve probably created.  Allow me to tell you the story on how this crazy concoction came about:

So, last night, I was trying to figure out what breakfast I wanted today (don’t ask, my mind does weird crap like this).  For some odd reason, I was craving mashed chickpeas. Why mashed chickpeas?  Because I was watching Nigella’s Kitchen and in one episode she made mashed cannellini beans which I thought looked delicious.  My mind decided to wonder from that to chickpeas; I figured I could get it done with chickpeas so eh, why not?  But of course, with the Indian in me, I had to spice it up with some masalas :). When this dish is done, it resembles scrambled eggs but it’s not. It’s healthy and delicious, trust me! I didn’t really measure anything since this recipe just came about last night in my head; however, start off with about 1/2 tsp for all the spices and build it up from there.  I had this dish as is but my mom gave me a good idea of putting in this in a tortilla with tomatoes and lettuce which I plan on doing next!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained, rinsed, and mashed to a desired consistency. I used a masher but you can use a fork too
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 inch ginger, grated
  • 1/2 tsp brown mustard seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin and coriander powder
  • 1 tsp chaat masala
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • salt, to taste
  • half a lemon, juiced
  • 1.5 tsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. In a pan on medium heat, heat olive oil
  2. Once hot, add mustard seeds and cumin seeds and wait until the mustard seeds start to sizzle and pop
  3. Add the onions, ginger and garlic. Mix and allow it to cook for 1 minute
  4. Add the mashed chickpeas and mix
  5. Add salt, turmeric, chili powder and cumin and coriander powder. Mix and let it cook for 3-4 minutes, stirring it occasionally.
  6. If the mixture starts to get too dry, add a little bit of water.
  7. Add the chaat masala and garam masala and let it cook for another 2-3 minutes.
  8. Taste the mixture and adjust the spices according to your taste.  At this point, you will want to let the mixture cook for another 2-3 points once you’ve adjusted the spices.
  9. Add the lemon juice, mix, and let it cook for another 15-20 seconds.
  10. Turn off the heat and serve immediately!

 

One thought on “Mashed Chickpea “Scramble”

Leave a Reply

