My life

Homemakers: Why I Respect them.

“I’m only a housewife, I’m afraid.” How often do we hear this shocking admission. I’m afraid when I hear it I feel very angry indeed. Only a housewife: only a practitioner of one of the two most noble professions (the other one is that of a farmer); only the mistress of a huge battery of high and varied skills and custodian of civilization itself. Only a typist, perhaps! Only a company director, or a nuclear physicist; only a barrister; only the President! When a woman says she is a housewife she should say it with the utmost pride, for there is nothing higher on this planet to which she could aspire.” -John Seymour

Housewives are probably one of the most hardworking women I know.  They work overtime, no income, and have no days off on holidays.  Yes, having a career can be stressful but people nowadays tend to overlook women who choose to stay at home and raise a family; in their eyes, a housewife just lazies around at home as if they’re on a daily vacation.  WRONG! If anything, it’s way beyond that.  Those who have careers at least get vacation time, whereas housewives don’t.  No, I’m not saying I don’t want a career, I do, but living at home after college has made me understand just how difficult a homemaker’s job can be.

My mother has been a stay at home mother/wife for some time now.  She did work when I was a baby but that was just to help with the income-it wasn’t anything special.  Once my dad’s income started increasing, my mom was able to spend more time at home.  Growing up, I thought my mom’s job was easy.  I used to nag at her how much I despised Indian food, so she would cook something separate for my sister and I.  This is beside the fact that she would also cook dinner for my grandparents and my dad.  Oh and she would also cook something separate for my grandmother who didn’t eat garlic and onions and my grandfather who preferred his food spicier and with more sugar.  On top of cooking, she would be the one driving my sister and I to sock hops, school dances, pizza nights, ice skating nights, sport practices, etc and taking out the trash, running errands, doing laundry, and cleaning the house.  My dad was traveling at the time, so she pretty much kept the house running.

A few months ago, my mom had a major surgery that refrained her from doing any physical labor for at least 6-8 weeks.  Since my dad is working and my sister is in college, I took over all of my mom’s duties.  Let me just say that in just 1 week, I gained 3947473939388x more respect for her and I appreciate her more than ever before.  The second I thought I was done with one thing, I would realize that there would be 5 more things I would have to complete.  Let me give you an example: I woke up one morning and realized that I had to get groceries since we were running low.  I drove to the grocery store, got everything that was needed and came back.  The second I entered my house, I remembered that the following day was garbage day so I had to take out the trash and put it on the driveway.  Did I mention I forgot to pick up the proper trash bags to put outside? Yep, I had to drive back to the grocery store and grab that.  I came home, put all the groceries away, cleaned out the fridge and pantry, and finally took out the trash. As soon as I did that, I thought was ready to finally sit down and relax; Nope, I was wrong.  I was reminded that laundry had to be done so up the stairs I went and did 2 loads of laundry.  Between throwing clothes into the washer/dryer and folding clothes, I had to get dinner ready.  After dinner was ready, I had to clean up the kitchen and put leftovers away.  By the time I FINALLY got time to relax, it was near 9pm.  How did I relax? I sat on my bed with a glass of wine, just as how my mom would do at the end of a stressful day.

If anyone says any negative things about “housewives”, they should walk a day in their shoes and see if they can handle it.  From the time they wake up to late in the night, all these women do is work, work, work, and sometimes don’t feel appreciated for what they do.  I can’t blame them for snapping at their husbands or children; I have first hand experience with that.  The only difference is that I actually walked a few months in my mom’s shoes and realized just how difficult it is.  It’s tiring and stressful.  Just sitting down for 5 minutes felt so good..until I would remember there was something else I had to do. You have no idea how delicious a glass of wine would taste after a busy day of running errands.

To all those housewives out there, running around 24/7 with no break, I seriously thank you and appreciate you all.  You women are the ones who keep the house running, no matter what anyone else says.  I respect you guys a thousand times more.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

