My life

The decorations didn’t scream “Wedding!”

I dreamed of a wedding of elaborate elegance,
A church filled with family and friends.
I asked him what kind of a wedding he wished for,
He said one that would make me his wife. -Unknown

So, if anyone watches TLC, they would know that Thursdays and Fridays are all about weddings!  If anyone knows me, I enjoy watching shows that make me cringe.  Don’t ask me why but I just do.  You know some of you do as well; for example, who watches “Keeping up with the Kardashians”, even though the girls annoy the heck out of you? Yep, that’s what I thought.  Well, there was nothing on television so I decided to watch “4 weddings”, just to see what the hype is all about.  Within the first 15 minutes, I wanted to throw my drink at my tv screen.  For anyone who doesn’t know what the show is about, here’s a simple summary of it:  Each of the 4 girls attend each wedding and grade them based on venue, dress, etc.  The woman with the highest points wins a free honeymoon.  It amazed me just how picky some of these brides were while attending each other’s weddings.  These women were bashing the smallest things from the colors to the table decoration.  Allow me to summarize the following quotes I heard from a few episodes:

  • Tiffany blue scheme is so overrated. I would have never picked that
  • The church looked so plain with minimal decorations.  I felt like I was at a church service than a wedding
  • The guests were talking while the groom and groomsmen were entering the church.  I felt like nobody was taking it seriously
  • The groom and bride were laughing throughout their vows. I don’t think they really understood the meaning of a “wedding.”
  • The table decorations were too small. I would have added more flowers to it
  • They didn’t have any non vegetarian food for guests which really bothered me. They should have thought about that more
  • The theme didn’t scream “wedding!” I felt like I was at a club during the reception than a wedding
  • Who has a buffet line at a wedding?! It was just so much chaos

And I’m going to stop there but you get the point of it.  Most of the women on the show need a reality check on what a wedding is all about.  A wedding is not about the decorations, the theme, color schemes, flowers, etc; it’s about two people (and families) coming together-it’s a celebration of the journey these two people have taken to get where they are today.  In 15-20 years down the road, are you really going to look back on how lavish your wedding was or how romantic that day was, standing next your significant other whom you are about to spend the rest of your life with? I understand that this show is a competition but there are people out there who flip out who are like those brides.

I never really understood the whole “dream wedding” or “dream proposal” some women have.  Maybe it’s because I never really sit there planning out things like that but the thought of a bride freaking out over the maroon colored ribbon not being maroon enough just screams stupidity to me.  Lets be real-guests do not very much care about the lavish decorations you have put into your wedding day; as long as you have good food, good drinks, and good music, that’s what they’ll remember the most.  I don’t want to look back on my wedding day and regret putting unnecessary stress on myself over the tiniest things.  Wedding planning in general is about to be stressful but you shouldn’t add in pointless stress by flipping out over the tiniest things, such as table decorations. If you have an idea on how you want your wedding day to be like then good! Definitely go with that idea you’ve had in your mind but also stay realistic and don’t have high expectations that everything will come together the way you have always dreamed of.  Just like in any relationships, you have to compromise with your wedding. Don’t turn into a bridezilla and have a freak attack over every little thing.  Pretty much, don’t turn into Kim Kardashian (if you watched her special, you know what I mean).

Maybe I need to be engaged to understand the stress of wedding planning, but quiet honestly, I just don’t see myself having a panic attack over what type of flowers should be placed on each table.  If my reception feels more like a “party” than a “wedding reception”, I would be thrilled! I think it should be a party because it is-it’s a celebration of our love and of us coming together as one..perfect reason to throw a party. I honestly hope we’re both laughing and pranks are done during our wedding ceremony because it’ll make it that much more interesting.  All I care about is making sure everyone has a good time and as long as that happens, I’ll be satisfied.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

