Baking · Recipe

RECIPE: Savory mozzarella, basil, and garlic scones!

If you read my “about me” section, you would know that besides science, my other passion is cooking and baking.  Well, I guess you could clump baking into science since it pretty much is! Anyways, I thought I’d change it up a bit on here and post some of my recipes I enjoy cooking. I have a tendency of taking recipes I find online and adapting it to my own. Then again, isn’t that cooking and baking about?

Major confession time: I have only been cooking for about 3.5 years! Yep, you heard me. You can thank my amazing boyfriend for that :).  Prior to us dating, I could not cook unless if you counted pasta with jarred sauce and salads but that’s it. Oh, and those ready bake cookies? I would burn them. It was sad. When the boyfriend and I started dating, he would tell me how much of an amazing cook his mom is (she is!). Any Indian will tell you that a son’s mother worries whether or not their girlfriend can cook or not (they worry about their stomachs 🙂 ). I felt compelled to cook for him to show off some “culinary skills”–I had none. I remember I would take chicken breast, combine it with shake and bake, bake it, and top it off with store bought pesto. The boyfriend would eat it all (bless his heart) but I knew it wasn’t up to par to my mom’s or his mom’s cooking. As time went on, I noticed how his mom would cook certain things from scratch. I decided to do the same and haven’t looked back since. People combine scratch made cooking to time consuming which it doesn’t always have to be. Even if it takes a little bit more time, it’s so worth that extra mile! My sister ALWAYS makes fun of me for making almost everything from scratch-she even tells me that I should raise my own chickens so I could have fresh chicken pieces! No, I’m not going to go to that extreme. I’m not going lie but I LOVE cooking and baking everything homemade. Most people will think I’m crazy but cooking and baking is therapeutic for me. It’s a plus for my mom since it gives her a reason to take a break from the kitchen :p.

Back to the recipe-I LOVE scones. Typically scones have a slight sweetness to them, which is perfect with jams, but you can also make them savory. The picture below will make you think that I baked southern biscuits but they’re far from that. These scones are HEAVENLY! They’re so fluffy and moist on the outside..yummy-o (had to steal Rachael Ray’s catchphrase!). The garlic adds that extra savoriness and sort of reminds me of Red Lobster’s biscuits but minus the copious amount of butter ;). I top these scones off with a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese and freshly ground cracked pepper. For the garlic powder and dried basil leaves, I didn’t really measure, just kind of eyeballed it. I did add measurements to what I think I might have added to the dough. Start off with a bit less than 1/2 tsp and add more to your taste. This recipe is adapted from Titli’s Busy Kitchen . The basic scone recipe is the same but I’ve tweaked it a bit. Give these scones a try! They’re so quick and easy :).

 

SAVORY MOZZARELLA, BASIL, AND GARLIC SCONES

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup All Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Milk (I used skim milk but you can use whatever milk you have)
  • 1/2 Cup Mozzarella Cheese
  • 4 tablespoons margarine (you can use butter), cold and cubed
  • 3 teaspoon baking powder
  • ~ 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • ~ 1/2 teaspoon dried basil leaves
  • couple grinds of freshly ground cracked pepper
  • a pinch of salt

Directions

  1. In a mixing bowl, sieve the flour, baking powder, salt, pepper, salt, garlic powder and basil leaves. Mix to combine
  2. Add the margarine (or butter) and rub it in with your fingers or pastry cutter until it produces a dry sand like texture.
  3. Add the cheese and mix it in
  4. To the mix, add and mix a little bit of milk at a time until it forms a sticky dough.
  5. Knead the dough very lightly and dump the dough into a floured surface
  6. Pat the dough out to 1/2″ thickness and using a cookie cutter (I used a drinking glass) to cut out the scones. If the dough starts to stick just sprinkle some flour onto it.
  7. Place the scones onto a greased cookie sheet and brush some milk on top of each scone.
  8. Sprinkle some more mozzarella cheese and grind some pepper on top.
  9. Bake in a 430 F or 450 F oven for 10-12 minutes, until the top starts to slightly brown and the cheese melts and browns up. Make sure not to over bake otherwise the bottom will burn.
  10. Place the scones on a wired rack to cool slightly. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “RECIPE: Savory mozzarella, basil, and garlic scones!

Leave a Reply

